They are several kinds of traffic ticket in the state but for reasons than one, the California speeding tickets happen to be the most common of all. A speeding ticket mets out some level of disciplinary actions to defaulters who go against the accepted speed allowed while driving, that ensures safety on road usage. Statistics on record show that the California police departments write about 5 million tickets annually due to the number of defaulters, that ranks them higher than any other state with similar traffic tickets regulation.
So, why exactly such alarming figure, are the road users clearly unprofessional or are they rules unnecessarily strict or perhaps are the California police just very hard working, when on duty? Well, let’s find out a few reasons why California issues such high number of tickets. Some say it’s due to the following :
- California has the greatest number of licensed drivers.
- Invariably translating more tickets and more tickets equals more task for the government.
What is a Speeding Ticket in California?
California’s traffic laws are all part of the California Vehicle Code (CVC). The CVC contains many kinds of laws and regulations spanning well over 42,000 sections and 18 divisions.
There are two kinds of speeding laws in effect in California:
- Basic speed law: Basic speed law states that you must drive safely and responsibly given the current circumstances, regardless of the posted limit.
- Official speeding
In a state with sky-high taxes already, $238 for driving at a speed of up to 15 mph over the maximum speed limit.$367 for driving 16 – 25 mph over the maximum speed limit.$490 for driving more than 26 mph over the speed limit.$900 for driving faster than 100 mph.
Cost of a speeding ticket in California
Based on research, according to NerdWallet’s 2020 rate study. The true cost of a speeding ticket in California could be more than 33 times the cost of the actual ticket — since defaulters could pay an additional $1,184 for a $35 ticket. That total cost includes the average $694 per year in additional insurance premiums, and up to $490 in fees to the state of California.
Traffic tickets around the country cost drivers just about $5.1 billion. That comes from over 93,000 tickets each and every single day. The average California driver will pay 42% more per year for full coverage insurance after one speeding ticket
California speeding ticket cost
- 100 mph or more over limit: $200, with higher penalties if you have a prior conviction.
- 26 mph to 99 mph: $100.
- 16 to 25 mph over limit: $70.
- 1 to 15 mph over limit: $35.
Most California speeding tickets are traffic infractions, and infractions usually are the least severe violations of the California Vehicle Code. Very few speeding tickets ever go to the next level — misdemeanors. For example, speeding by more than 30 miles per hour in California is a misdemeanor, and this type of speeding ticket in California, could end you a criminal record.
Your base fine combined with surcharges and other penalties for a traffic ticket can range from $238 to $490 depending on how fast you were going, according to the Judicial Branch of California. Additional penalties and fees may be applied, depending on location.
If you are given a speeding ticket at highway construction zones and maintenance areas, your fee will be increased by $35.
How much is a speeding ticket in California for going 85 in a 65? 26 mph to 99 mph: $100, already stated above, the california state charges is a 100 dollar flat fee for a speed level between 26mph to 99mph.
What to do after you get a speeding ticket in California
California drivers with clean records have three options after receiving a minor speeding ticket
- Plead and accept that you are guilty instead of otherwise
- Pay the fine and attend traffic safety school to avoid receiving a conviction and a point – but if you do receive a point on your license. Points last on your record about 3 – 7 years, but insurance surcharges typically last 1 – 3 years.
- You can also try to negotiate your fine in court, or the judge may issue a reduced fee based on your ability to pay.
How Long Does a Speeding Ticket Stay On Your Record in California?
Every state treats speeding tickets a little differently. All California speeding tickets stay on your record for a maximum of 39 months. That’s three years and three months, or around 400 days. If you’re above the age of 18, that criminal record just might last a lifetime. However, most people will only be able to see the last seven years of your record. Although the conviction will never go away, it will only be visible for those seven years.
Here’s a list of fines you could be facing for exceeding the posted speed limit
In construction zones, speeding ticket fines increase by almost half. In dedicated safety enhancement zones, the fines can be even higher. Of course, that’s not even including the surcharges.
If, for any reason, you fail to appear for a speeding ticket hearing, you could be charged with failure to appear and your speeding ticket could stay on your record for another five years.
Tips to Beat California Speeding Tickets
Get a Lawyer
Knowing what kinds of motions to file, what the general strategies are, and how to request evidence can help you build a strong case.
Trial By Written Declaration
Most of us lead busy, busy lives. You might have children, school, or a job that demands full-time attention. If you can’t afford to take time off to go to court, then a trial by written declaration might be for you. A trial by declaration allows you to fight your speeding ticket without ever having to step foot in a courtroom. By filing one of these documents, you can tell your side of the story just like in normal traffic court but without all the stress.
Beating a radar speeding ticket in California is to call into question the accuracy of the device. Radar, is some device that functions like a radio detection and ranging, is a scientific method used to measure the distance of an object. Radar guns, are what certified police utilize to write speeding tickets, they also have computers in them that help to calculate the speed of moving objects like motor vehicles. If it has not been recently calibrated, it may be inadmissible. If the officer doesn’t have the requisite certifications, it may be inadmissible. If there is case law describing the gun as inaccurate, it may be inadmissible.